Collaborative writing tools

Wow, I’m really excited this week because not only did I get the chance to start writing a story but I also got the chance to collaborate with other classmates (teachers) on writing a story together! I have added a few tools to my livebinders (see bottom right) on Collaborative writing tools. I wrote a story with 2 other teachers (Mercedes and Mrs Bozic) using Entri . It was extremely fun and easy. You just need to type your lines and share it with other people. They can sign in on their Entri account (you can use twitter if you wish to do this) and you can start editing your document. Obviously there are other tools (such as the well-known Google docs) but if you need to edit a document with your twitter friends, I would recommend this one. What I really like is that it also saves your changes every minute or so. Very clever!

My piece of collaborative writing can be accessed here: http://entri.co/fWPgKT

I also noticed not all tools are suitable for all tasks/ text types. That’s why in my Livebinder I have included a brief title that describe what type of text/task each tool is suitable for.

 

Apart from collaborative writing, I have also found you can use a trick on Google docs to annotate a text. See this blog http://nctesecondary.blogspot.com.au/2010/03/annotating-text-using-google-docs.html

Posted on January 20, 2012, in Collaboration, Literacy, tools, Writing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I can feel your excitement about the power of collaborative writing, Viviana. I’m glad you could collaborate with others and see how it works.

  2. Wow, i feel great reading your excellent writing on Collaborative writing tools.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,366 other followers

